PPA Hall of Fame

Members of the PPA Hall of Fame

1992: Ben Ezzell, The Canadian Record; Williams “Bill” Howe, The Shamrock Texan; Harold Hudson, The Perryton Herald; Wendell Tooley, The Tulia Herald; S.B. Whittenburg, Amarillo Globe-News; B.M. Nelson, Castro County News.

1993: Douglas Meador, The Matador Tribune; H.M. Baggarly, The Tulia Herald; Morris Higley, The Childress Index; Jimmie Gillentine, The Hereford Brand.

1994: Gene Howe, Amarillo Globe-News; Putt Powell, Amarillo Globe-News; Virginia Robey, Wellington Leader; Mary Kate Tripp, Amarillo Globe-News.

1995: John Getz, The State Line Tribune; Cherry Kay Hamilton, Fritch Eagle Press; Troy Martin, The Canyon News; Jim Reynolds, The Tulia Herald.

1996: Olin Hinkle, The Pampa News; Wesley Sherman Izzard, Amarillo Globe-News; Orvil Gene “Speedy” Nieman, The Hereford Brand; Dick Reavis, The Moore County News Press.

1997: Kenneth Hogue, Dalhart Texan; Louise Fletcher, Pampa News; Bill Lee, West Texas State University and Amarillo Globe-News.

1998: H. Deskins Wells, Wellington Leader; George Wayne Estlack, Donley County Leader; Bill Cox, Amarillo Globe-News, Amarillo Times, Lamesa Daily Reporter, Odessa American, Borger News-Herald; Kenneth Towery, Cuero Daily Record, Floyd County Hesperian-Beacon, Crosby County News and Chronicle.

1999: Marie Harris, Tulia Herald, Amarillo Globe-News, Plainview Daily Herald, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Olton Enterprise; James Roberts, owner of many Panhandle and area newspapers; Gardner Collins, Moore County News Press, Borger News-Herald, Paris News, Hereford Brand; Joseph Miller, White Deer News, Panhandle Herald, Chickasha (Ok.) Daily Express.

2000: J.C. Estlack, The Lovington (N.M.) Leader, The Clarendon News, The Donley County Leader; W.R. “Bill” Rutherford, Moore County News, Amarillo Globe-News, Blackwell (Ok.) Journal-Tribune; Don Nelson, Castro COunty News, The Arizona Record; Nancy Ezzell, The Canadian Record.

2001: Herschel A. Combs, The Wellington Leader, The Memphis Democat; Van Stewart, Ochiltree County Herald; Bill Ellis, Friona Star, Bovina Blade, Muleshoe Journal, San Mateo (CA) Times; Sue Cannon, Kress, Hart, Olton, Plains, Amherst newspapers.

2002: W.H. “Sonny” Graham, Stratford Star, Bovina Blade, Farwell State Line Tribune, Lovington (N.M.) Daily Leader; Tom Higley, Childress Indez, Sayre Journal, Hollis News; Buford Davenport, Abernathy Weekly Review.

2003: L.H. Carhart, The Clarendon News; David Rasco, Amarillo Globe-News; Garet von Netzer, Amarillo Globe-News; Danny Andrews, Plainview Daily Herald.

2004: Edwin Murry “Ed” Eakins, Quanah Tribune-Chief; Jeane Bartlett, Amarillo Globe-News; Rose Watson, Moore County News Press, Hereford Brand, Amarillo Globe-News; Carol Ellis, Friona Star/Bovina Blade, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Muleshoe Journal.

2005: Trenton Davis, Amarillo Globe-News, Rollie Hyde, Plainview Daily Herald, and Faye Plank, Dalhart Daily Texan

2006: Roy S. Butterbaugh, Boise City News; Felix Phillips, Amarillo Globe-News; Dave McReynolds, Texas Coaster, Galveston Daily News, Friona Star, Cotton Gin and Oil Mill Press, Stratford Star and the Moore County News; Beth Duke, Amarillo Globe-News.2006:

2007: Brad Tooley, Canyon News; Burle Pettit, Lubbock Avalanche Journal

2008: Laurie Ezzell Brown, Canadian Record; Tommy Thompson, Amarillo Globe-Times

2009: Lynn Brisendine, Brownfield News, Seminole Sentinel, Hereford Brand, Lamesa Press-Reporter; Mike Haynes, Amarillo College, Amarillo Globe-News, McLean News, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal.

2010: Ben Sargent, Amarillo College, Amarillo Globe-News; Don Rice, Borger News Herald.

2011: Ruby Dell Estlack, The Donley County Leader; Doug McDonough, Plainview Daily Herald

2012: Alice Gilroy, Floyd County Hesperian Beacon; Debbie Aylesworth, Canyon News

2013: Jon Mark Beileu, Amarillo Globe-News; John Brooks, Castro County News

2014: Cathy Martindale, Amarillo Globe-News; Susan Hogue Clay, Dalhart Texan

2015: David Stevens, Clovis News-Journal; Kayla Parvin, Booker News.

2016: Edward E. Carhart, Clarendon News; Phillip J. Miller, Groom/McLean/Lefors News, Claude News.

2017: Don Richards, Hale Center American; Toby Brooks, [Wheeler] County Star-News.